Augmented Scale

Though it is not as well known or regularly used as its cousins the Minor Pentatonic and Major Scales, the Augmented Scale is a unique sound that can add an extra spice to your solos and compositions.

The Augmented Scale has 6 notes, and they are arranged as such.


Root – m3rd – M3rd – P5th – A5th – M7th


So, for example, a C Augmented Scale would be spelled with the following notes:


C – Eb – E – G – G# – B


Because this scale is built out of two Augmented Triads, one one the root (C in this case) and one on the minor 3rd (Eb in this case), you can use this scale to solo of Major 7#5 chords.

The following Augmented Scales are written out in the key of C, but make sure you practice them in all keys so you have them at your fingertips no matter what key you’re soloing in.

Learn Jazz Guitar Scales and Scale Patterns with the Matt Warnock Guitar Jazz Scales App.


Augmented Scale One Octave


Augmented Scales One Octave


Augmented Scale Two Octaves


Augmented Scale Two Octaves


Click to return to the Essential Jazz Guitar Scales Page

3 Responses to "Augmented Scale"

  1. robbie says:

    Any other chords besides maj7#5 work with the augmented scale? Minor majors?

    1. Matt Warnock says:

      Hey, if you play it from the root then this is the only chord that it really applies to. Cheers.

  2. Deondre says:

    minor second chord substitutions. it works over that as well

Leave a Reply

Get A FREE Jazz Guitar eBook!

Sign up for my FREE email guitar lessons and get a copy of:

"Beginner's Guide to Jazz Guitar"

* indicates required


Visit Us On FacebookVisit Us On TwitterVisit Us On YoutubeVisit Us On GooglePlusVisit Us On PinterestVisit Us On Linkedin

Dominate Dominant 7ths!

Start Today!

Matt Warnock 251 Chord App

For Apple and Android!

Play Better Jazz Guitar in 1 Month

Start Today!

© Matt Warnock 2011 Website by Christopher Davis