Tritone Scale

Master Jazz Guitar Rhythms With The Modern Time eBook. Click to Download Your Copy Today!

Though it is not as well known or regularly used as its cousins the Minor Pentatonic and Major Scales, the Tritone Scale is a unique sound that can add an extra spice to your solos and compositions.

The Tri-Tone Scale has 6 notes, and they are arranged as such.


Root – m2nd – M3rd – D5th – P5th – m7th


So, for example, a C Tritone Scale would be spelled with the following notes:


C – Db – E – Gb – G – Bb


Because the Tritone Scale is built out of two Major Triads, one one the root (C in this case) and one on the diminished 5th (Gb in this case), you can use this scale to solo of 7(b9,#11) chords.

The following Tritone Scales are written out in the key of C, but make sure you practice them in all keys so you have them at your fingertips no matter what key you’re soloing in.

Learn Jazz Guitar Scales and Scale Patterns with the Matt Warnock Guitar Jazz Scales App.


Tritone Scale One Octave


Tri Tone Scales One Octave


Tritone Scale Two Octaves


Tri Tone Scale Two Octaves


Click to return to the Essential Jazz Guitar Scales Page

2 Responses to "Tritone Scale"

  1. ehud kano says:

    Hey Matt, I think there’s a typo in the two octave fingerings… Both examples are identical…

    1. Matthew Warnock says:

      Nice catch, I changed it up, cheers.

Leave a Reply

Get A FREE Jazz Guitar eBook!

Sign up for my FREE email guitar lessons and get a copy of:

"Beginner's Guide to Jazz Guitar"

* indicates required


Visit Us On FacebookVisit Us On TwitterVisit Us On YoutubeVisit Us On GooglePlusVisit Us On PinterestVisit Us On Linkedin

Dominate Dominant 7ths!

Start Today!

Learn Jazz Guitar Scales

iPhone and iPad!

Master Bebop Guitar

© Matt Warnock 2011 Website by Christopher Davis